James Beard Awards semi-finalists announced

The list narrows!

The list narrows!

Lots of repeat names, along with some newcomers, on the short list this year for the 2011 James Beard chef and restaurant awards, to be announced on May 9 at Lincoln Center in New York. Even though the competition is stiff in many of the national categories, it's nice to see Minnesota represented in the mix. We've got five Twin Cities chefs vying for the title of Best Chef Midwest this year, an honor previously secured by Tim McKee and Alex Roberts. Click to see who made the cut:


Best New Restaurant Piccolo, Minneapolis

Outstanding Restaurant La Belle Vie, Minneapolis

Outstanding Pastry Chef Michelle Gayer, Salty Tart Bakery, Minneapolis

Outstanding Restaurateur Larry D'Amico and Richard D'Amico, D'Amico & Partners, Minneapolis (Café & Bar Lurcat, Campiello, D'Amico Kitchen, D'Amico & Sons, Masa, and Parma 8200)

Outstanding Service La Belle Vie, Minneapolis

Rising Star Chef of the Year Sameh Wadi, Saffron Restaurant & Lounge, Minneapolis

Best Chef Midwest Erik Anderson, Sea Change, Minneapolis Isaac Becker, 112 Eatery, Minneapolis Doug Flicker, Piccolo, Minneapolis Russell Klein, Meritage, St. Paul, MN Lenny Russo, Heartland, St. Paul, MN

A big congratulations to all!

**Follow Hot Dish on Twitter and Facebook**