James Beard Award semi-finalists announced

The James Beard Award
The James Beard Award


Today the James Beard Award semi-finalists were announced. The food world's annual answer to the Oscars recognizes the best in the business. Winners carry the proud title throughout their career. Past local honorees include the likes of Isaac Becker, Alex Roberts, and Tim McKee. This year's list includes some past nominees as well as some exciting new names. Here's a roundup of some of the local restaurants and chefs who were singled out today.

Best New Restaurant
Butcher & the Boar

Outstanding Bar Program
Marvel Bar

Outstanding Pastry Chef
Steve Horton, Rustica Bakery

Outstanding Chef
Tim McKee, La Belle Vie

Outstanding Restaurant

Outstanding Restaurateur
Kim Bartmann of Cafe Barbette, Bryant-Lake Bowl, Red Stag, Pat's Tap, Tiny Diner

Outstanding Service
Sapor Cafe and Bar

Rising Star Chef of the Year
Jamie Malone, Sea Change

Best Chef Midwest
Doug Flicker, Piccolo
Steven Brown, Tilia
Michelle Gayer, Salty Tart
Mike DeCamp, La Belle Vie
Jack Riebel, Butcher & the Boar
Lenny Russo, Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market
Sameh Wadi, Saffron Restaurant & Lounge
James Winberg, Mike Brown, and Bob Gerken, Travail Kitchen and Amusements

Click here to view the full list.

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >