Rep. Dean Urdahl Says Students Are So Ignorant About America They Need to Be Tested

Are Minnesota high school students American idiots when it comes to their country?

Are Minnesota high school students American idiots when it comes to their country?

What year was the U.S. Constitution written?

Name one of 22 Indian tribes recognized by the federal government.

Coming up empty? No problem.

See also: Minnesota schools merely average in new Education Week survey

Try something a little easier: What ocean is on the East Coast of the United States?

These are but three of the 100 questions that state GOP Rep. Dean Urdahl thinks Minnesota high school students should be able to answer in order to graduate.

Today's kids and tomorrow's leaders are suffering from a serious ignorance problem about their own country, according to Urdahl, a retired educator, who taught American civics for 35 years in the New London-Spicer school district.

To combat what he's labeled as "a crisis of knowledge in our state and country regarding our republic," Urdahl is working on a bill that would require high school students to pass the same test immigrants take in order to be naturalized.

Urdahl did not return messages seeking comment. Details of his proposal remain sketchy.

The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services test consists of 10 random questions picked from 100 listed on a study guide.

They range in difficulty from softballs like "What is the name of the President of the United States now?" to humdingers such as naming one of the four authors of the Federalist Papers.

Aspiring citizens must answer six correctly to pass.

In statehouses from Idaho to Alabama, legislators are fixated on the belief the nation's kids are so ill-informed that government intervention is needed. Earlier this year Arizona became the first state to require high school seniors to pass a civics exam in order to graduate.

Think you could pass? You can take a shot, here.

By the way, the Constitution was written in 1787, and the following tribes are recognized by the federal government:

Cherokee, Navajo, Sioux, Chippewa, Choctaw, Pueblo, Apache, Iroquois, Creek, Blackfeet, Seminole, Cheyenne, Arawak, Shawnee, Mohegan, Huron, Oneida, Lakota, Crow, Teton, Hopi, and Inuit.

Send tips to Cory Zurowski.