Minneapolis-St. Paul only one of four major metro areas prepared for a crisis

A Department of Homeland Security report, due to be released today, states that only four major metropolitan areas have emergency communications allowing police, fire, and medical officials to coordinate fully during a crisis. The cities that received the "most advanced" status include Washington, D.C.; San Diego, California; Columbus, Ohio; and Minneapolis-St. Paul. To achieve this status, cities had to have standard procedures for interoperable communications, working knowledge of the emergency equipment, and plans in place to meet further communications goals. The emergency systems of 75 urban and metro areas around the nation were surveyed, with cities such as Chicago and New York City coming up short.