Minneapolis, St. Paul mayors easily win reelection


Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak and St. Paul Mayor Chris Coleman both kept their jobs last night, easily winning reelection. Rybak will be starting his third term as he gears up for a gubernatorial run and Coleman starts his second.

Get all of the details on these races, as well as other local elections, below.

Coleman won with 68.7 percent of the vote, which is the largest margin of victory in a St. Paul mayoral race in nearly 25 years. St. Paul voters also approved the Ranked Choice Voting system, which Minneapolis debuted this year. The voting method allows voters to rank their top 3 choices for each race, which is supposed to help third-party candidates in future elections.

KARE11 has a video report with Coleman's speech:

Rybak won reelection in Minneapolis with 74 percent of the vote, despite the new ranked choice voting system that allowed there to be 10 candidates in the race. Musician and civic activist Papa John Kolstad came in second with 11 percent of the vote.

KARE11 has a report:


Interested in some of the other city races? Check out the Minneapolis City Council results here, Minneapolis Board of Estimate and Taxation here, and Minneapolis Park Board here.

In St. Paul, check out School Board results here and IRV vote here. The Star Tribune also has results for the surrounding suburbs.