City Pages wins 11 first place SPJ Page One awards

City Pages took home 11 first place trophies at the annual Society of Professional Journalists Page One banquet last night, beating both the Star Tribune and the Pioneer Press for the third year running.

The Pioneer Press had an outstanding showing this year with 9 first place awards, while the Star Tribune slipped a bit from previous years but still brought home 5 first place wins. City Pages competes in the 50,000+ large newspaper division, against both Twin Cities daily newspapers.

The featured speaker for the evening was Governor Dayton, who discussed education and took questions from the audience about the budget impasse.

[jump] Here are our first-place winners:

Business Feature: Andy Mannix, Plagiarism, Inc.

Sports News: Kevin Hoffman, Metrodome collapse: Maintenance man escaped deluge in fork lift

Sports Feature: Erin Carlyle, Niklas Backstrom, the Wild's stone-cold secret weapon

General Column: T.D. Mischke, Micheal Eyedea Larsen: A life remembered

Sports Column: Judd Spicer, Judd Spicer joins St. Paul Pioneers

Website: Jen Boyles,

BOTC 2010 won first place for "Best Issue"

BOTC 2010 won first place for "Best Issue"

Front Page Design: Melinda Beck, Nick Vlcek, Twin Cities Thinkers

Page Design: Mike Kooiman, The Opposite of Wild

Best Issue
: Matt Smith, Best of the Twin Cities 2010

Feature Photo
: Kate N.G. Sommers, Kitchen Ink

Special Awards

In this category, City Pages competes against all other media in the state, including TV, radio, magazines, and daily newspapers.

Best Use of Public Records: Nick Pinto, Jeremy Giefer could be Tim Pawlenty's Willie Horton

Previous Coverage

* 2010: City Pages wins 12 first place SPJ Page One awards

* 2009: City Pages wins 15 first place SPJ Page One awards

* 2008: City Pages wins 8 first place SPJ Page One awards