Unreleased Jimmy Jam demos with Mind & Matter dug up by Numero Group

Unreleased Jimmy Jam demos with Mind & Matter dug up by Numero Group

When it snows, it pours! Earlier this month, Chicago-based retro label Numero Group unveiled release details of an ambitious funk-soul compilation called Purple Snow, but they're not stopping there. As they were digging through old recordings from local greats ranging from Haze to the Girls to Prince collaborators the Lewis Connection, they found enough unreleased material from producer impresario Jimmy Jam to pull together another reissue plan.

With partner Terry Lewis, Jam was the architect behind countless hits for Janet Jackson, Usher, Mariah Carey, and many more. But before all that, he was a 16-year-old writing and arranging for Minneapolis 11-piece Mind & Matter. The album 1514 Oliver Avenue (Basement) captures 1977-era basement demos that have never seen wide release, and shows what Jam already had going for him in his early days.

See Also:
Numero Group's Twin Cities funk comp Purple Snow coming in November

Numero informs us that "Boasting a perfectly calibrated vocal quartet, an aggressive rhythm section, and stacks of Rhodes, Rolands, and Hammonds, the danceable act failed to win favor with frigid Midwest audiences." Now, we can perhaps warm up to the idea a bit more.


1) No One Else Can Do It to Me Baby

2) Wonder of It All

3) Love Is Like a Fire

4) I Don't Know Why (I Love You Like I Do)

5) Disco Child

6) When You're Touching Me

7) Would Be Mine

8) Virgin Lady

9) Now That I Don't Have You

The album title comes from the actual street address in north Minneapolis where the band gathered in an unfinished root cellar to perhaps literally build the foundation for the Minneapolis Sound. Look for it on October 29, which is two weeks before the release of Purple Snow: Forecasting the Minneapolis Sound.

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >