Soul Asylum back with Delayed Reaction in July

Soul Asylum will release its first album in six years this July, Delayed Reaction. This will be the tenth studio release from the group, and its first with 429 Records, a label that appears to be highly motivated to snap up bands that hit commercial paydirt in the mid-'90s. The group's new labelmates include Everclear, Cracker, the Proclaimers, Tonic, and the Gin Blossoms.

This is the first record without founding bassist Karl Mueller, who passed in 2006 following a bout with cancer. Ex-Replacement (and Guns 'N Roses) bassist Tommy Stinson has taken on that role full-time.

According to the label, the album was recorded in Los Angeles, New Orleans, and Minneapolis -- and takes on a cultural vibe from each of those locations.

For a time, this album was expected to be called Rough Air. A tour is expected to follow.

Here's the track listing for the album, which is set to be released July 17.

Soul Asylum back with Delayed Reaction in July
  1. Gravity
  2. Into The Light
  3. The Streets
  4. By The Way
  5. Pipe Dream
  6. Let's All Kill Each Other
  7. Cruel Intentions
  8. The Juice
  9. Take Manhattan
  10. I Should've Stayed In Bed

City Pages on Facebook | Gimme Noise on Facebook | Twitter | e-mail us

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >