Soul Asylum announce EP series featuring their favorite covers

Soul Asylum announce EP series featuring their favorite covers
Photo by Steve Cohen

Following one of the busiest years they've had in a while, Soul Asylum are starting to make some noise in 2013. Last year marked the entry of Delayed Reaction, their first new studio album in six years, but it also signaled the departure of founding guitarist Dan Murphy. Now, with frontman Dave Pirner carrying the torch, the band will debut a new EP titled No Fun Intended later this July.

For fans who have seen the band live in recent years -- or been listening closely to 89.3 the Current recently -- these songs will be familiar. It's a selection of covers featuring some SA favorites, including Joy Division, the Suicide Commandos, and MC5 for the first round -- just in time for the guys' appearance at Target Field for the Skyline Music Festival with Big Head Todd, Matthew Sweet, and the Gear Daddies.

See Also:
Skyline Music Festival 2013 at Target Field lineup unveiled
Soul Asylum guitarist Dan Murphy leaves the band

All three of the songs on the first EP's installment were played at last summer's Soul Asylum show at First Avenue. Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart," the Suicide Commandos' "Attacking the Beat," and set-closer "Shakin' Street" by MC5 all proved to be live highlights, according to Erik Thompson's review.

According to a press release, the July 16 digital release of the new covers will be the first EP in a series of indeterminate length. Also, the current lineup of Pirner, drummer Michael Bland, bassist Winston Roye, and guitarist Justin Sharbono are hitting the studio with producer John Fields for the release of a new album in early 2014.

The Skyline Music Festival hits Target Field on Friday, July 26. More info here.

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >