MORE

Northrop unveils Summer Music Festival lineup

The University of Minnesota has made a tradition out of inviting local bands to perform on the Northrop Plaza each summer, but this year they are upping the ante by bringing on Minneapolis musician Grant Cutler (ex-Lookbook, Grant Cutler & the Gorgeous Lords) to help a team of students curate the summer's music activities.

The Summer Music Festival at Northrop kicks of June 1 with a noontime concert featuring Haley Bonar and Jeremy Ylvisaker's new project Gramma's Boyfriend. All of the concerts are free and all ages.

Summer Music Festival at Northrop 2011

FRIDAY NIGHT LIVE

Fri, July 15, 7:00 - 9:00 pm
Northrop Plaza
Headliner: Sims
Opener: Bight Club

FIRST AVE: TOO MUCH LOVE ON CAMPUS
DJ SovietPanda

Wed, June 8, noon - 1pm
Wed, June 29, noon - 1pm
Wed, July 13, noon - 1 pm

MOVIES AND MUSIC

Wed, June 15, 7:00 - 8:30 pm (concert) 9:00 pm (movie):
Headliner: Lucy Michelle & The Velvet Lapelles
Opener: U of M band Ryan Flannery & The Night Owls
Movie: Superbad

Wed, July 20, 7:00 - 8:30 pm (concert) 9:00 pm (movie):
Headliner: Kill the Vultures
Opener: U of M band Peregrine Perspective
Movie: Jurassic Park

Wed, Aug 3, 7:00 - 8:30 pm (concert) 9:00 pm (movie):
Headliner: A. Wolf & Her Claws
Opener: Absolute Grüv
Movie: Rango

NOON CONCERTS

Wed, June 1, 12:00 - 1:00 pm
Gramma's Boyfriend

Wed, June 22, 12:00 - 1:00 pm
Food Pyramid

Wed, July 27, 12:00 - 1:00 pm
Charanga Tropical

More info on these events and other U of M summer concerts is available at the SMFN website.


Sponsor Content