Listen to 'Fire Drills,' a new track from Dessa’s forthcoming album, ‘Chime’


Dessa Bill Phelps

February is universally acknowledged as the dreariest of months, but maybe a new Dessa album will help take the edge off in 2018.

The Doomtree rapper/singer (and so much more) will release Chime, her fourth full-length solo album, on Feb. 23. To whet your appetite, she’s dropped a second single today, “Fire Drills.” (Chime’s first single, "Good Grief," materialized in October.)

“I tried to include the bodily sensations, the logistical considerations, and the philosophical consequences of the daily vigilance that’s asked of women—to keep their bodies safe and reputations clean,” Dessa says of the new track.

Though it’s been four years since Dessa’s last album, Parts of Speech, she’s kept characteristically busy. Last year, she contributed a version of “Congratulations” to The Hamilton Mixtape at the invitation of Dessa superfan Lin-Manuel Miranda, and also performed on Miranda’s recent benefit single for Puerto Rican relief efforts, “Almost Like Praying.”

Oh, and here’s another new Dessa track. She covered the Mountain Goats’ “Balance” for a collaborative benefit project I Only Listen to the Mountain Goats.

Now, for those of you who like to know the titles of songs, here's the full tracklisting for Chime.

Chime tracklist
1. Ride
2. 5 out of 6
3. Fire Drills
4. Velodrome
5. Good Grief
6. Boy Crazy
7. Jumprope
8. Shrimp
9. Half of You
10. Say When
11. I Hope I’m Wrong