I Am Not A Human Being: Track-by-track review

I Am Not A Human Being is as crazy as its name
Lil Wayne dropped "I Am Not A Human Being" on iTunes today

, unleashing his prison album on the free world.

Previously, we speculated wildly about what the new album would sound like, noting that it was something of a coming out party for Young Money Records.

Now we've got the first listen.

1. Gonerrhea: Living up to its name, the jump off finds Weezy plumbing the depths of his imprisoned perversion, including a reference to 2 Girls, 1 Cup (has he really been gone that long?). This is for purists only, representing Weezy at his Purple Drankest, in love with wordplay to the exclusion of good sense.

2. Hold Up: This A Milli-style free association banger doesn't sound infectious on first listen,  but the intricate lyrics contain new meanings to be discovered on the hundredth go-round. Hey, at least it isn't named after an STD.

3. With You: This is the sweet side of Weezy, with help from Drake (you can thank him later). A love ballad with romantic flowers and wine, this is a Wayne you can bring home to mama.

4. I Am Not A Human Being: A song from the era when Weezy was walking around with a guitar slung over his shoulder. This may be the triumph of that period, even if his abundant verbal creativity never quite translates to riff rock.

5. I'm Single feat. Drake One of two pre-release tracks, both of which featured Weezy protege Drake. This is the weaker sister by far. A laconic, Purple Drank-infused complaint about a not-good-enough girlfriend.

Nicki Minaj's breakout moment
6. What's Wrong with Them:

This could be Nicki Minaj's breakout track. Weezy offers free association rhymes that lurch into an impossibly hooky chorus with Nicki sounding as sweet as Rihanna.

7. Right Above It: In stark contrast to the laconic toss-off of "I'm Single," this was designed from the start to be a Drake breakout track, and Lil Wayne shows up for the occasion. This is vintage Weezy--the fireman spitting at his hottest.

8. Popular: One of the commonalities of the songs on this album is an almost disco-esque background, with Wayne being as introspective as he's ever been. This song is perhaps the best example of it.

9. That Ain't Me: Weezy's defiant poem from prison eschews the gaudy displays of his bling bling youth in favor of fantasizing about the simple fun you can indulge in when not locked up behind bars.

10. Bill Gates: This song announces itself with the spare wood block beat of so many of Weezy's underground mixtapes. It sticks out as the strongest of the new songs. I love the idea of the real Bill Gates listening to this on his island somewhere.

Total Score: This is a 4-and-a-half star stunner. Weezy's best since Carter 3.

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >