Bob Dylan announces release date and tracklisting for Tempest, his 35th studio album

Bob Dylan announces release date and tracklisting for Tempest, his 35th studio album

See Also:
William DeVogue claims to be Bob Dylan's first son

Bob Dylan has been on quite a run in 2012. In addition to celebrating the 50th anniversary of the release of his debut record in March, he also received the Presidential Medal of Freedom shortly after his 71st birthday in May. Dylan's fruitful year will certainly continue, as it was just announced that Bob's 35th studio album, Tempest, will be released on September 11.

Update: Dylan will perform November 7 at Xcel Energy Center.

Tempest will feature 10 brand new songs, and was once again produced by Jack Frost, a moniker that Dylan has been using as of late. This also will be the second Dylan record that will see a release on September 11, joining Love And Theft, which came out on that fateful day in 2001.

Tempest will hopefully continue the late-career resurgence for Dylan, whose last three records have all helped usher in a distinguished, perspicacious chapter to Bob's long, illustrious career. Some of these new tracks could potentially find their way into the set during Dylan's highly anticipated upcoming performance in Rochester on August 21, his only Minnesota show currently scheduled in 2012.

But the release of a new record will certainly bring about more tour dates, which hopefully will include a long overdue Twin Cities stop, which would be Dylan's first since his legendary election night performance at Northrup Auditorium in 2008.

Pre-orders for Tempest are currently available on iTunes and Amazon.

Here is the full tracklist for Bob Dylan's Tempest, due out on September 11, 2012.

1. Duquesne Whistle
2. Soon After Midnight
3. Narrow Way
4. Long and Wasted Years
5. Pay In Blood
6. Scarlet Town
7. Early Roman Kings
8. Tin Angel
9. Tempest
10. Roll On John

City Pages on Facebook | Gimme Noise on Facebook | Twitter | e-mail us

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >