Film Poll 2013

Supporting Actress — Votes for Lupita Nyong'o

Robert AbeleUnranked
David Ansen2nd
Richard Brody3rd
Monica Castillo1st
Godfrey Cheshire1st
Bob Chipman1st
Jake Cole2nd
Peter Debruge1st
A.A. Dowd2nd
Annlee Ellingson1st
Cynthia FuchsUnranked
Lance Goldenberg1st
Tim Grierson3rd
Tomas Hachard1st
Odie Henderson1st
Aaron Hillis1st
Inkoo Kang1st
Don Kaye2nd
Adam Kempenaar1st
Peter Knegt1st
Michael Koresky2nd
Josh Larsen2nd
Robert Levin1st
Rob NelsonUnranked
Keith Phipps2nd
Nathan Rabin3rd
Katey Rich1st
James Rocchi1st
Mike Rubin1st
Alan ScherstuhlUnranked
Matt Singer1st
Jeremy Smith1st
Dana Stevens1st
Ryan Stewart1st
Anne Thompson1st
Scott Tobias1st
Dave WhiteUnranked
Zachary Wigon2nd

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.