Film Poll 2013

Film — Votes for Her

Robert AbeleUnranked
Simon AbramsUnranked
Melissa Anderson4th
David Ansen7th
Sean Axmaker1st
Monica Castillo7th
Justin Chang8th
Godfrey Cheshire2nd
Jake Cole8th
Peter Debruge5th
A.A. Dowd1st
Annlee Ellingson3rd
Jim Fouratt10th
Jack Giroux1st
Lance Goldenberg5th
Ed Gonzalez1st
Tomas Hachard3rd
Aaron Hillis2nd
Don Kaye1st
Adam Kempenaar2nd
Jonathan KieferUnranked
Peter Knegt1st
Dan Kois2nd
Genevieve KoskiUnranked
Robert Levin4th
Calum Marsh1st
Amy Nicholson2nd
Mark Olsen5th
Michelle OrangeUnranked
John Oursler5th
Keith Phipps3rd
Nathan Rabin1st
Mara Reinstein2nd
Katey Rich7th
James Rocchi5th
Alan ScherstuhlUnranked
Brent SimonUnranked
Matt Singer2nd
Jeremy Smith1st
Dana Stevens3rd
Ryan Stewart6th
Anne Thompson7th
Scott Tobias1st
Dave WhiteUnranked
Matthew Wilder3rd
Scott WilsonUnranked

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.