Film Poll 2013

Film — Votes for 12 Years a Slave

Robert AbeleUnranked
Sam Adams2nd
Sheila BensonUnranked
Steven Boone5th
Monica Castillo4th
Godfrey Cheshire1st
Bob Chipman8th
Peter Debruge2nd
A.A. Dowd6th
David Ehrenstein2nd
Annlee Ellingson6th
David Fear2nd
Jon Frosch3rd
Cynthia FuchsUnranked
Jack Giroux7th
Lance Goldenberg2nd
Tomas Hachard2nd
Odie Henderson2nd
Eugene Hernandez9th
Inkoo Kang1st
Don Kaye5th
Ben Kenigsberg10th
Peter Knegt5th
Eric Kohn1st
Dan Kois4th
Genevieve KoskiUnranked
Josh Larsen2nd
Robert Levin8th
Calum Marsh6th
Patrick Z. McGavin6th
Rob NelsonUnranked
John Oursler3rd
Keith Phipps1st
Nathan Rabin4th
Mara Reinstein9th
Katey Rich1st
James Rocchi2nd
Joshua Rothkopf7th
Mike Rubin3rd
Matt Singer9th
Jeremy Smith6th
Anne Thompson3rd
Sam WeisbergUnranked
Zachary Wigon7th
Scott WilsonUnranked

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.