Film Poll 2013

Actress — Votes for Adèle Exarchopoulos

David Ansen3rd
Sean Axmaker2nd
Miriam Bale1st
Steven Boone1st
Richard Brody1st
Justin Chang2nd
Bob Chipman1st
Mike D'Angelo3rd
A.A. Dowd2nd
Alonso Duralde3rd
Jon Frosch1st
Ed Gonzalez2nd
Tim Grierson1st
Larry Gross3rd
Eugene Hernandez1st
Don Kaye2nd
Adam Kempenaar2nd
Ben Kenigsberg2nd
Jonathan KieferUnranked
Peter Knegt2nd
Eric Kohn2nd
Josh Larsen2nd
Robert Levin2nd
Patrick Z. McGavin1st
Rob NelsonUnranked
John Oursler1st
Keith Phipps1st
Katey Rich1st
Vadim Rizov3rd
Mike Rubin1st
Nick Schager3rd
Brent SimonUnranked
Matt Singer3rd
Luke Y. Thompson1st
Scott Tobias1st
Sam WeisbergUnranked
Matthew Wilder1st
Scott WilsonUnranked

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.