2013 Ivey Awards

In less than a decade, the Ivey Awards have become a mainstay of the Twin Cities' theater community, raising hopes and moods at the top of each fall season since 2005. The ninth edition, subtitled "Heroes of Twin Cities Theater" (with a clever, superhero-themed photo series to match) will honor favorites from the last year of productions, provide samples of recent and upcoming works, and honor one artist who shows great potential and another artist for a lifetime of work. In typical Minnesota fashion, there aren't lists of nominees and then a winner. Instead, the Ivey voters select a number of productions and performances to be honored. The Emerging Artist Award and Lifetime Achievement honor are two of the biggest draws for the evening. Past winners of the first include Isabel Nelson, Anna Sundberg, and Matthew Amendt. Recent Lifetime honorees include Wendy Lehr, Bain Boehlke, and Rick Shiomi. Co-hosts Shanan Custer and Randy Reyes will lead the proceedings. Performances include moments from the Jungle Theater's Urinetown: The Musical, the Guthrie Theater's Clybourne Park, and the upcoming Mixed Blood Theater production of Brahman/i: A One-Hijra Stand-Up Comedy Show. Some tickets for the event include a pre-show VIP party hosted by James Denton (of Desperate Housewives fame and currently in Park Square's Good People) at the Le Méridien Chambers Hotel and Marin from 5:30 to 7 p.m. All ticket holders are invited to an after-party at the same location.
Mon., Sept. 23, 7:30 p.m., 2013

Use Current Location

Related Location

Historic State Theatre

805 Hennepin Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403



Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >