• Slideshows
  • Videos
 
MORE

Reggaeton, A-Z

Reggaeton, A-Z

Complimenting today's City Pages cover story on reggaeton (check out the online-only photo gallery), here's a list of local and international reggaeton links. Post comments below, or email Pete at City Pages.

Reggaeton, A-Z
Reggaeton, A-Z

(above: dancers at the Loring Pasta Bar photographed by Tony Nelson, part of the "Reggaeton Nightlife in the Twin Cities" slide show; Danny y Elliot in the same series, also shot by Tony)

Reggaeton in Minnesota, A-Z

Aqua Fresh Crew MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/aquafreshcrew

Back-Up Plomo MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/backupplomo

Capestany http://www.capestany.com/

Article: Caribbean Connection in Star Tribune http://www.startribune.com/126/story/46487.html

Cypha Squad MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/cyphasquad

Danny y Elliot MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/dannyampelliot

El Arco Iris Center for the Performing Arts MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/elarcoiris_mn

El Chico Fino MySpace page http://myspace.com/elchicofino

El Nuevo Rodeo http://www.elnuevorodeo.com

Gran Papo MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/granpapo

Maria Isa http://www.mariaisa.com

Maria Isa MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/mariaisalolita

The Kamillion MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/thekamillion

La Picosa 1530 (KQSP-AM) http://www.lapicosa.us

Lirica Secreta http://www.liricasecreta.com

Los Nativos http://www.losnativos.com/

Los Nativos MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/losnativos

Machete Music http://www.machetemusic.com/

Old Arizona http://www.oldarizona.com

DJ Omari Omari MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/djomariomari

DJ Pablo MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/djpablo06

Article: "Reggaeton Animal: Immigrant dreams, dirty dancing, and the revolution: Meet the new Latin hip hop of Maria Isa and Danny y Elliot" (City Pages) http://citypages.com/databank/27/1355/article14906.asp

Photo slide-show: "Reggaeton Nightlife in the Twin Cities" (City Pages)

The Salsa Police http://www.thesalsapolice.com

Elliot Santana's BNB Productions MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/bnbproductions

Smoke Signal Productions MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/smokesignylproductions

DJ Verb X MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/djverbx

Vida y Sabor http://www.vidaysabor.com/

Article: "Will Maria Isa be St. Paul's reggaeton breakout?" (City Pages) http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/2005/11/maria_isa_alrea.asp

Reggaeton Everywhere, A-Z

Reggaeton, A-Z

(Daddy Yankee at Airmagination, among the hundreds of sites linked at Jamaican and Caribbean music links at Complicated Fun)

Alexis y Fido http://alexisyfido.com/

Bam Bam riddim http://www.jamrid.com/RiddimDetail.php?ID=22&search=Bam%20Bam&type=Riddim

Baby Ranks MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/babyrankstheonlyone

Tego Calderon http://www.tegocalderon.com/

Calle 13 Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calle_13_(band)

Daddy Yankee http://www.daddyyankee.com/

Don Chezina http://www.donchezinareggaeton.com/

Don Omar http://www.donomar.com/

El General Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_General

Ivy Queen MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/ladivaivyqueen

Jamaican and Caribbean music links, A-D at Complicated Fun http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/stories/013284.asp

Jamaican and Caribbean music links, E-L at Complicated Fun http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/stories/013961.asp

Jamaican and Caribbean music links, M-R at Complicated Fun http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/stories/013503.asp

Jamaican and Caribbean music links, S-Z at Complicated Fun http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/stories/013353.asp

Las Guanabanas MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/georgieguanabana

Luny Tunes http://www.lunytunes.net/

Machete Music http://www.machetemusic.com/

Audio: Wayne Marshall's "Dem Bow Mix" mp3 at riddimmethod.net http://riddimmethod.net/?p=62

Pitbull http://www.pitbullmusic.com/

DJ Playero Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DJ_Playero

Reggaeton360 http://reggaeton360.com

Residente Calle 13's video for "Querido FBI" at Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrcaMh6FCKM&search=fbi

Roc La Familia Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roc-La-Familia

Article: "Start Your Reggaeton Collection Today, Be Popular Tomorrow" by Dylan Hicks (City Pages)

Twin Cities Clubs Featuring Reggaeton

Reggaeton, A-Z

Babalu http://www.babalu.us

The Blue Nile http://www.bluenilempls.com

The Dinkytowner http://www.dinkytowner.com

El Nuevo Rodeo http://www.elnuevorodeo.com

Escape Ultra Lounge http://www.escapeultralounge.com

Euphoria http://www.euphoriamn.com/

First Avenue http://www.first-avenue.com

Loring Pasta Bar http://www.loringcafe.com

The Lounge http://www.theloungempls.com

Nochee http://www.nochee.com

Salsa Police http://www.thesalsapolice.com

DJ Verb X MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/djverbx

Vibrations at the Lounge http://www.mezeshaentertainment.com

Yearning at the Red Sea MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/yearningmpls

Other Related Local Links

Andrews Sisters http://www.cmgworldwide.com/music/andrews/

Boys and Girls Club - West Side http://www.volunteermatch.org/orgs/org17980.html

Boys and Girls Clubs of the Twin Cities http://www.boysandgirls.org/

El Arco Iris Center for the Performing Arts http://www.myspace.com/elarcoiris_mn

La Invasora 1400 (WMNV-AM) http://www.lainvasora1400.com/

La Mera Buena 107.5 (KBGY-FM) http://www.lamerabuena.net/

Leroy Smokes http://www.leroysmokes.com

Minneapolis Dancehall http://www.mplsdancehall.com

Alberto Monserrate in City Pages http://citypages.com/databank/27/1331/article14407.asp

Old Arizona http://www.oldarizona.com

Ken Pentel http://www.kenpentel.org/

Prince Jabba http://www.mplsreggae.com/prince_jabba.htm

Radio Rey 630 (WDGY-AM) http://www.radiorey630am.com/

Raices MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/raices

Rhymesayers http://www.rhymesayers.com

Unicus MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/unicus

Elsa Vega-Perez http://www.saintpaulfoundation.org/about/board/index.asp?id=118

Vida y Sabor http://www.vidaysabor.com/

Yo! the Movement (Twin Cities Celebration of Hip Hop) http://www.yothemovement.org/

Other Related International Links

Beenie Man http://www.beenieman.net/

The Clash http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/stories/014075.asp

Cosmo Baker http://www.cosmobaker.com/

Big Pun Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Pun

Chaka Demus & Pliers on Tougher Than Tough: The Story of Jamaican Music http://www.amazon.com/Tougher-Than-Tough-Story-Jamaican/dp/B000003QLC

Bobby "Digital" Dixon Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Dixon

El Vez http://www.elvez.net/

Eddy Herrera http://www.eddyherrera.com/

HBO's The Wire http://www.hbo.com/thewire/

Jamaican and Caribbean music links at Complicated Fun http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/stories/013284.asp

Lolita Lebron Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lolita_Lebron

Lord Invader Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lord_Invader

Nina Sky MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/ninasky

Hassan Omari (scroll down to Les Noirs) http://www.muzikifan.com/shika.html

Public Enemy http://www.publicenemy.com/

reggaeton Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reggaeton

Jerry Rivera http://www.jerryrivera.com/

Shabba Ranks Wikipedia entry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shabba_Ranks

Sly and Robbie http://www.officialslyandrobbie.com/

Tony Touch http://www.tonytouch.com/

Reggaeton, A-Z

(dancers at the Loring Pasta Bar photographed by Tony Nelson)

See also:

Jamaican and Caribbean music links, A-D at Complicated Fun Jamaican and Caribbean music links, E-L at Complicated Fun Jamaican and Caribbean music links, M-R at Complicated Fun Jamaican and Caribbean music links, S-Z at Complicated Fun

African Hip-Hop, A-Z http://blogs.citypages.com/pscholtes/2006/07/african_hip_hop.asp

Plus:

More feedback at DUNation.


Sponsor Content