African Hip Hop, A to Z

African Hip Hop, A to Z

Is hip hop African? I interviewed everyone from old-school Bronx rap legend Love Bug Starski to touring West African hip-hop trio Daara J to find answers in today's City Pages feature "Payback Is a Motherland," which also looks at the Minnesota African hip-hop scene (including Baraka, above, and M.anifest and DJ Xpekkt, below). Curious consumers might want to skip straight to Keith Harris's handy CD sidebar "Africa's Ultimate Beats and Breaks" (or listen to mp3s by M.anifest and local Kenyan R&B singer Fadhil, a.k.a. Fadhili, collaborating with Kenyan rap legend Hardstone). More discussion at DUNation.

Then on Monday, July 17, in Minneapolis, Daara J perform for free in Loring Park at 7:00 p.m., with KFAI's Salif Keita (not the singer, as previously posted) DJing before and after the set (more information here and here). My hope is that African rappers will use this event as an open-air networking session, further linking the various communities. (It's followed by a free screening of the movie Sullivan's Travels at dusk.) And speaking of links...

African Hip Hop, A to Z

African Hip Hop in Minnesota, A to Z

4 Shades MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/4shadesmusic

African Rhythms on KFAI-FM (90.3/106.7) http://kfai.org/programs/african.htm

Blade Brown MySpace page http://myspace.com/bladebrownmusic

Jazio Blaque (a.k.a. Knotty) http://www.backstagecommerce.com/cgi-bin/artisthome_db.cgi?1240948

Blue Nile Restaurant and Lounge http://www.bluenilempls.com/

Egypto Knuckles http://www.myspace.com/EgyptoKnuckles

Eritrian Community Center of Minnesota http://www.nitesoft.com/eccm/

K-Stringz (circa-2000 Tripod site) http://k-stringz.tripod.com/

Kilimanjaro Entertainment http://kilimanjaroentertainment.com/

Knotty (a.k.a. Jazio Blaque) MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/knottymon

M.anifest MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/manifestations

Mezeshae Entertainment http://www.mezeshaentertainment.com/

Mo-Man: "Mo Money, Mo Problems" http://citypages.com/databank/25/1210/article11882.asp

The Red Sea http://www.redseaclub.com/

T&J Entertainment http://www.tnjentertainment.com/

Umunne Cultural Association of Minnesota http://umunne.org

Waberi Studio http://www.asoftnet.com/wb/index.html

Wahomeskenya http://www.wahomeskenya.com

Xpekkt official site http://www.tuffstorm.com

African Hip Hop, A to Z

African Hip Hop in the World, A to Z

Africa Hi-Fi http://www.prescriptionworld.org/ahifi.html

Africa Raps CD at Trikont http://www.trikont.com/catalogue/294_africa_raps/294_africa_raps.html

African hip hop at Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/African_hip_hop

Africanhiphop.com http://www.africanhiphop.com

Africanhiphop (MySpace) http://www.myspace.com/africanhiphop

Africanhiphopradio.com http://africanhiphopradio.com/

Africasgateway.com http://www.africasgateway.com/

Afrolution http://www.afrolution.com

Akon http://www.akononline.com/

Amuse Africa (South Africa) http://www.amuseafrica.com/

Ancient Meets Urban http://www.ancientmeetsurban.com/

Awesome Tapes from Africa blog http://awesometapesfromafrica.blogspot.com/

Babkubwa.com http://www.babkubwa.com/

Benn Loxo du Taccu blog http://bennloxo.com/

Black Mango Music http://www.blackmangomusic.com/

Bongo Flava page at Calabash Music http://bongoflava.calabashmusic.com/

Calabash Music http://calabashmusic.com/

Jeff Chang on the history of "Che Che Cole" http://www.cantstopwontstop.com/blog/2004/01/che-che-cole-to-future-just-want-to.html

Johari Cleff Studios in Nairobi http://www.jcleff.com/jcmusic/

Daara J MySpace page (pictured above) http://www.myspace.com/daarasenegal

Daara J at Rock Paper Scissors http://www.rockpaperscissors.biz/index.cfm/fuseaction/current.press_release/project_id/179.cfm

DJ / rupture MySpace page http://myspace.com/deejayrupture

Hardstone MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/hardstone

Hip Hop Headrush http://www.hiphop.co.za/

The Hiplife Complex Blog http://thehiplifecomplex.blogspot.com/

Hiphopcolony.com http://www.hiphopcolony.com/

J-deGuvna MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/jdeguvna

Emmanuel Jal MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/emmanueljal

K-Melia http://www.kmelia.com/

K'Naan official site http://www.thedustyfoot.com/

K'Naan MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/knaanmusic

Kalamashaka http://www.angelfire.com/wa/kshaka/kshaka2.html

Matsuli Music blog http://matsuli.blogspot.com/

MF Doom http://www.mfdoomsite.com/

Mzibo http://www.mzibo.net/frame.html

Naiha Jams blog http://www.naijajams.com/

Nomadic Wax http://www.nomadicwax.com/

Nomadic Wax MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/nomadicwax

Ntama Journal of African Music and Popular Culture http://ntama.uni-mainz.de/

Nubian Underground http://www.nubianunderground.com

Omzo http://www.omzomusic.com/

Omzo MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/omzo

Prophets of Da City http://www.rucus.ru.ac.za/~eitan/poc/poc2.html

Shadow Zu MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/shadowzu

The Suburbs Are Killing Us blog http://www.christopherporter.com/

Senerap.com http://www.senerap.com

Stern's http://www.sternsmusic.com/

Union Square Music http://www.unionsquaremusic.co.uk/

Unitednationsofhiphop.com http://www.unitednationsofhiphop.com/

Universal Zulu Nation and Afrika Bambaataa http://www.zulunation.com/

World Music Network http://www.worldmusic.net

X-Plastaz at Calabash Music (pictured below) http://xplastaz.calabashmusic.com/

X-Plastaz MySpace http://www.myspace.com/xplastaz

Yellogate Studios in the Gambia http://www.yellowgate.gm/

Zhalman http://www.zhalman.com

Updates:

African hip hop in the park today (cpculture.com 7/17/06)


Sponsor Content

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >