comScore

Mixed Precipitation's Picnic Operetta returns this summer with '80s pop

itemprop

Each summer, Mixed Precipitation puts together a quirky event where the troupe travels to various parks and community gardens to present an evening of raucous opera served up with local food.

Now in its eighth year,  the Picnic Operetta will be expanding its tour, visiting other untraditional venues like farms and vineyards, and traveling even further to places like Virginia, Babbitt, and the Rochester areas of Minnesota.

For Donald Giovanni in Cornlandia: A Picnic Operetta, Mixed Precipitation will be taking Mozart's 1787 work and moving it into the 1980s. The story follows a real-estate tycoon with political aspirations who is met with hostile supernatural powers while on the campaign trail. Expect power-pop ballads, hair-metal riffs, and opera.

Tickets go on sale June 1. In the meantime, you can view the schedule below and plan your road trip (or stick to a nearby location and ride your bike).

The tour:

Sunday, August 14, 2pm (preview)

itemprop

Women's Environmental Institute, 15715 River Rd., North Branch, MN 55056

Thursday, August 18, 7pm

Dodge Nature Center, 1701 Charlton Ave., West St. Paul, MN 55118

Friday, August 19, 7pm

Bronx Park, 2500 Georgia Ave. S., St. Louis Park, MN 55426

Saturday, August 20, 2pm

Northern Delicious, 3298 Lenont Rd., Babbitt MN, 55706

Sunday, August 21, 6:30pm

Caponi Art Park, 1220 Diffley Rd., Eagan, MN 55123

Friday, August 26, 7pm

Loring Park Garden of the Seasons, 1382 Willow St., Minneapolis, MN 55408

Saturday, August 27, 2pm

Iron Range Partnership for Sustainability and the Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency, Virginia, MN 55792

Sunday, August 28, 4pm

JD Rivers Children's Garden, 2900 Glenwood Ave. N., Minneapolis, MN 55405

Saturday, September 3, 2pm

itemprop

Alexis Bailly Vineyard, 18200 Kirby Ave. Hastings, MN 55033

Sunday, September 4, 2pm

Alexis Bailly Vineyard, 18200 Kirby Ave. Hastings, MN 55033

Saturday, September 10, 3pm

Dream Acres Farm, 17289 County Rd. 8, Wykoff, MN 55990

Sunday, September 11, 3pm

Squash Blossom Farm, 7499 60th Ave. NW, Oronoco, MN 55960

Saturday, September 17, 2pm

Image from last year's Alcina's Island.

Image from last year's Alcina's Island.

Frogtown Farm, 946 Minnehaha Ave. W., St. Paul, MN 55104

Sunday, September 18, 2pm

Skidmore Park Community Garden, 1085 Fourth St. E., St. Paul, MN 55106