Here are the winners of the 26th annual Minnesota Book Awards


Last weekend, talents from the local literary community gathered to celebrate and honor the best of Minnesota writing in 2013. The gala was hosted by John Moe of Wits fame. The eight categories included nominees in children's literature, genre fiction, poetry, and Minnesota. So if you're looking for some good summertime reading, or just want to get into a few books by Minnesota authors, the list of winners may be your ticket to finding a good read. Check out the entire list of winners after the jump.

See also:

Your guide to the Minnesota Book Awards finalists

Award for Children's Literature:

David LaRochelle and Mike Wohnoutka, Moo! (Walker Books for Young Readers/Bloomsbury Children's Books)

Summary: A cow goes for a joyride after stealing the farmers' car.

Award for General Nonfiction:

Jack El-Hai, The Nazi and the Psychiatrist: Hermann Göring, Dr. Douglas M. Kelley and a Fatal Meeting of Minds at the End of WWII (PublicAffairs Books/Perseus Books Group)

Summary: This true tale explores the unorthodox relationship between army psychiatrist Captain Douglas M. Kelley and elite Nazi POWs.

Award for Genre Fiction:

William Kent Krueger, Tamarack County (Atria Books/Simon & Schuster)

Summary: The 13th novel in the Cork O'Connor series explores the case of a woman's disappearance, weaving in connections with a cold case O'Connor oversaw that is now over 20 years old.

Award for Memoir & Creative Nonfiction:

Melanie Hoffert, Prairie Silence (Beacon Press)

Summary: This work is both a coming-of-age tale and examination of small-town mentality, exploring topics like love, faith, home, and belonging.

Award for Minnesota:

Kristin Makholm, Modern Spirit: The Art of George Morrison (University of Oklahoma Press)

Summary: Co-written by W. Jackson Rushing III, this book showcases and examines the art of modernist Chippewa artist George Morrison.

Award for Novel & Short Story:

Ethan Rutherford, The Peripatetic Coffin and Other Stories (Ecco/HarperCollins Publishers)

Summary: This strange and compelling collection of short stories includes tales of dark humor, humanity, and history, from a tale of a doomed Confederate submarine to the modern story of two parents struggling to build a relationship with their troubled teen son.

Award for Poetry:

Matt Rasmussen, Black Aperture (Louisiana State University Press)

Summary: Loss is a heavy theme in this personal work, as Rasmussen explores the tragedy of his brother's suicide. Despite the grim situation and topic, the author manages to mix in bits of humor with the grief, never relying on trite cliches.

Award for Young People's Literature:

Carrie Mesrobian, Sex & Violence (Carolrhoda Lab/Lerner Publishing Group)

Summary: Teen boy Evan struggles to find a life again after surviving an assault.